top of page

The burnt toast theory


Just when I was scrolling mindlessly, (most of us do this many times a day), I changed upon a reel explaining The Burnt Toast Theory. 


To be honest, it was quite interesting. The person explained: It's a usual day. You are getting ready for your office, you are in a hurry, and you burn your toast amid all this. Now, to clean up the mess, all your subsequent activities while getting ready eventually run a few minutes late. 


In an ideal case scenario and an obvious human reaction would be that we would end up getting frustrated and agitated. We would feel our day ended on a bad note and the rest of it is going to be worse. 


But as per the theory, the time we are running late, we actually saved ourselves from an untoward situation. We have infact protected ourselves from an accident or a mishap. Or else the delay will give us an opportunity that will lead us to meeting new people or having experiences that will benefit us!


In either case, whatever will happen will be for the best! 😃



A friend and a colleague of mine shared this very perspective a few days ago, indirectly citing the theory. 


This New Year's, I was about to go on a trip. However, a point came when it was almost on the verge of being cancelled. After I resumed office and we were filling each other in, I shared that we got late as my friend had an urgent work that couldn't be missed. We were supposed to leave early morning but left in the evening. This is when my colleague said that he feels when something like this happens, we prevented ourselves from something horrible. 


And today, when I watched the reel, I felt this is the best explanation we can give ourselves in such a situation!



What are your thoughts? Share them with us! 


Let's have a conversation rolling!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The night that shook me

This is a story of cruelty, gender bias, and patriarchal, dysfunctional patterns that our society is not willing to break!

30 and unmarried

30 and unmarried! Yup! That's me! Not that I don’t want to, but it’s a long term goal for me. When I was in my early 20s, I had a timeline in mind (just like most of us have):Not that I don’t want to,

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page