top of page

30 and unmarried

30 and unmarried! Yup! That's me!


Not that I don’t want to, but it’s a long term goal for me.


When I was in my early 20s, I had a timeline in mind (just like most of us have):Not that I don’t want to, but it’s a long term goal for me. a progressing career and marriage by 27/28 with the guy of my choice (at the time I was inclined towards love marriage). However, life had a different plan for me!


Critical health issues made me take a sabbatical. I took time off to focus on myself and recover from the physical, psychological and emotional toll everything had on me. (The detailed story is for another day). This was a 2 year gap. While I was freelancing, upskilling myself and doing everything to stay productive all this while, my career kinda came to a halt.


However, I bounced back with a positive attitude and high spirits. I kickstarted my life at 27 years of age. I found myself a job again, moved out of my house and started living independently.


Ever since then, I have been living by myself. It’s peaceful but comes with a lot of responsibility. There are days when I struggle financially too. But this experience has shaped me holistically. I focus on myself. I do what’s right for me. I prioritize myself. And this meant pushing away the shaadi plans.


On a different note, seeing my friends and some acquaintances’ examples, when ending up with the wrong partner led them to get trapped in the cage of depression, I knew I didn’t want this for myself. I envision my life with a partner who is the right one for me and we have a loving, mature, and compatible companionship.


Till date, I say to my parents: I would rather prefer marrying late, than marrying the wrong guy! And thank God for giving me the best parents in the world who never force me or push me. The choice is mine when to marry and whom to marry. And I feel lucky, because I know not everyone has this choice!


Hopefully, some day, I shall have the partner I always wanted and a life I always envisioned. And I wish everyone of us would get what’s right for us! ❤️



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The night that shook me

This is a story of cruelty, gender bias, and patriarchal, dysfunctional patterns that our society is not willing to break!

The burnt toast theory

Just when I was scrolling mindlessly, (most of us do this many times a day), I changed upon a reel explaining The Burnt Toast Theory. To be honest, it was quite interesting. The person explained: It's

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page