top of page

Did you have your artsy cake yet?

Updated: Oct 1, 2020

Have you ever savored the taste of an artistic cake that is not only tempting from the outside but 10x times scrumptious on the inside which will give you foodgasms?

If not, then you need to check out Ruchika Mittal's cakes.





She has set a good example of the perfect independent woman who took her passion forward. One fine day, she was attending a family function and got attracted by the designer cake and BOOM! There was love at first sight. She decided to go ahead with her heart and she never looked back. No, she did not get married or hooked rather she found love in baking and preparing artistic cakes.



She went on, researched, tried, failed, and tried again. One thing she did was never stopping and never losing hope. It’s been years now and she has been successful in creating her bakery business, Ruhlicious (Cakes by Ruchika)!



One look at her Instagram profile will definitely make your mouth salivate. By the way, she has over 4k followers on Instagram and is soon on her way to 5k. Her profile will be a treat not only for the eyes but also for your taste buds. She identifies herself as a ‘Cake Artist’ and creates masterpieces ranging from cakes, cupcakes, to brownies and chocolates.


The best bit is you ask it and you will have it. Be it any design, any flavor, any occasion, she will craft it making it a huge success. It will not only be aesthetically pleasing but will explode your taste buds too! So far, she has designed cakes for all occasions, ranging from Bachelor and Bachelorette parties, birthdays, anniversaries, weddings, cake jars including Rasmalai and Gulab Jamun customized options, alphabetical designs, molten lava, cakesicles, cupcakes, etc.


Customized cup cakes

Customized Cup Cakes




In a conversation with the young baker, Ruchika who talks about her journey, tips about baking, and even breaks a major myth about fondant cakes (ohh yes, this will blow away your minds)-

1. How long have you been in the baking industry?

It’s been more than 6 years now that I started my venture. It feels as if time flies!

The female behind the the brand- Ms. Ruchika

2. Roughly an estimate, how many cakes, cupcakes and chocolates have you baked till now? The bifurcation if possible!

That would be extremely difficult to answer. But taking a rough idea, I guess I have created around 1000-1200 cakes, over a 1000 Cupcakes, and over 500-800 Chocolates so far. This could be more considering the 6+ stint in the business. I never really counted, to be honest.

3. What do the clients usually demand?

Clients primarily demand discounts and free deliveries! Hahaha!

Jokes apart, the request for cupcakes and cakes is usually high throughout the year. The chocolate Truffle variant is a huge seller and is preferred by many of my customers!

Best selling- Chocolate Truffle

4. Which one has been the most memorable work?

That would have to Mother’s Day orders of May 2016. That day was special as I had my first bulk order of 7 cakes in a day! Damn, that was hard but in the end everything went well!

Mother's Day 2016 orders

5. Which one has been the most challenging work?

It would have to be Mother's day again. I completed 46 orders in a day. And I was literally dead by 2:00 AM.

6. The work that is close to your heart?

Every cake/Cupcake I create is of course my baby. It’s hard to choose anyone. But if I had to answer, then I would say that I am really proud of my PAAN GULKUND cake. It’s been a super hit ever since I created it!


7. How would you describe your baking journey in a few words/lines?

Baking memories for life! Period.

8. Please share about the training/courses you took up to pursue baking.

I am actually a self-taught baker and cake artist. YouTube, Google, lots of trials and errors, failed recipes are behind my success. 15-18 hours every day on YouTube is what I took and hours of practicing to master the recipe and carve out my innovations! Phew! But once it started falling in place, the aroma of the cakes and their aesthetic decoration filled my room, I knew I was going the right way.

9. What gave you the idea/inspiration to indulge in bakery and come up with a business?

Just after completing graduation, a very beautiful cake caught my attention at an engagement party I attended. And that was it! I developed a love for such artsy cakes! That was the moment I felt this is for me!

10. Who do you follow amongst the celebrity bakers/chefs?

Amongst celebrity bakers would be YOLANDA GAMPP for sure! I do follow shows like CAKE BOSS TLC for their unique and inspiring content.

11. A baking tip you swear by?

Crumb coat and Chill work wonders!

12. A myth about the bakery which you would have heard often but would want to break for our readers?

Fondant Cakes taste good too! Yes, they do! Try mine and you will realize that what I am saying the truth!

13. Do you have a sweet tooth?

Only for my own crafted delicacies- New York Baked Cheesecake & Blueberry Cake. (It's to die for!)

14. How many hours does it take you to create a cake?

It actually depends on the design. The basic ones usually take around 3-4 hours but the extremely intricate and delicate designer cakes could take even a day or two.

15. Which cake took you the longest and how long?

I prepared a 3D Animal School Bus Cake for a 2-year-old. It took me 8-10 hours as far as I can recall.


16. What all varieties and flavors are available?

You will find everything at Ruhlicious (Cakes by Ruchika)! Ranging from Cakes, Cupcakes to Cake Jars, Chocolates & Brownies! You name it and we have it!




Cakesicles



Monogram Cake

Monogram Cake





Ruchika's favourite

Most loved designs by clients

The newly launched- Molten Lava cake

17. What would be the price range?

The pricing has no bar. It actually is dependent on the flavor, size, and design. Every cake has its own price! For an idea, a Basic 1/2 kg Chocolate Truffle is 600/- to 700/-

18. From where do you usually shop for the baking ingredients and essentials?

I usually buy my stuff online. Preferably Amazon.

19. One baking technique/trend you like and dislike/would like to change?

Monogram Cakes are all-time love. I don’t dislike any trend and I am hopeful I never will.

20. A tip you would like to give to the budding bakers out there?

The one and only tip would be- GOOD PHOTOGRAPHY IS EXTREMELY IMPORTANT!

21. Many times people wish to try their hands at baking but fear they won’t be successful. Any tips or motivational words for them?

This is a place for people who have absolutely crazy passion for cakes and baking! If you have the will to step out of your comfort zone and learn something new, passion for spreading smiles and good taste, and even a tiny bit of creativity, you should give it a shot. Of course, it will take time and effort but it will be worth it.

PS- A little heads up- It’s not a 9 to 5 job and there are no Sundays!

22. Have you come up with classes for teaching/do you plan to come up for classes?

Not as of now! I myself still have a lot to learn. I want to become a pro first and then pass on my experience and learnings to the people around. Having said this, I am always there for people who are stuck, want some advice or tip, or even want to talk about baking.

Ruchika has indeed made a mark of herself in the baking industry with her talent, hard work, and innovation. The only thing that we must inform you is that she does not deliver the cakes. But don’t you worry folks. As she has come up with solutions for those too. You can either rope in the third-party delivery apps from where you could schedule your delivery or you could book Uber cabs and have your little bundle of happiness delivered right at your doorstep.

You can find her clientele’s love and blessings on her profile too. Their testimonials are proof that she has been doing an amazing job with her heart, sweat, and soul and that the delivery bit does not hamper her work! Her work actually makes up for it.

To blow away your taste buds and to brighten up any occasion, you know what to do! DM her and you will have your sugary delight ready!

(Picture Credits- Ruchika's Instagram and shared by her)

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page